It is an American tradition to run a lemonade stand when you are a kid. Mixing up a huge jug of delicious ice cold lemonade either from scratch or from a powder, setting up your little table, carefully crafting your sign, and feeling so professional when people actually gave you money for something you made! It’s a classic summer activity. But in recent years, states have been tightening their food production and safety laws and what licenses you need to sell homemade goods. So in many states Lemonade Stands have actually become illegal!
Every state’s laws regarding this are different and they each refer to the act of selling lemonade as something different. In Texas its “peddling” and one requires a $150 peddling permit and kitchen inspection, in Georgia you need business and food permits which are 50$ a day, in Oregon you have to obtain an $120 temporary restaurant license and the list goes on.
It seems unreasonable to ask kids to pay such large sums of money to sell Lemonade, but the laws are rooted with the public interest in mind. Most of the laws are based upon the fact that for unregistered food stands there is no information on the kitchen where the food was made. For public health it is important to regulate the cleanliness of the kitchens where the Lemonade was made.
It’s a tough topic to form an opinion on because it is such an American tradition and a lovable pastime but of course public health is important. There are benefits and drawbacks, and strong arguments on both sides! We will see how this all pans out and if any laws are changed. Until then you can sit back and enjoy Long Island Brand Beverages’ Lemonade line. Don’t worry we have all the permits and licenses required!